2023: Asa APC Picks Hon. Alajere As Candidate For Owode/Onire Constituency


Owode/Onire constituency in Asa local government area of kwara state has picked it’s candidate to run for the forthcoming House of Assembly election through intensive screening session on Friday.

According to the report signed by all members of the committee and made available to this medium said some of criteria were set to access the capability of would be honourable include the individual ability to communicate fluently in English language which could be used in writing memo present bills at the floor of the house.

Investigations conducted by this medium revealed that all aspirants were asked to submit their original credentials include birth certificate, education qualifications, party membership card, voter’s card, citizenship certificate, evidence of retirement/resignation if any, party attestation from ward chairman, medical report and any others document that can add value to the exercise.


In view of the aspirants performance, Committee members let the position go round for the sustainability of rotational method policy adopted since 1991 till date.

The committee in their report explained that in 1991 to 1993, late Hon. Ajao Gomih from Efue/Berokodo ward in Owode district represented the constituency.

History also has that from 1999 to 2003, Hon. Ambali Mohammed from Alapa/Onire/ Ode-Giwa ward in Onire district represented Owode/Onire constituency at kwara state house assembly, while in 2003 to 2007 Hon. Abdullahi Duro Mohammed from Owode/Gbogun ward represented the constituency based on rotational system.

Also in 2007 to 2011 the position was shifted to Onire district in recognition of political rotational with the representation of Hajia Ramat Adesina Abaya from Agbona/Elebie/Fata ward in Onire district.

Again in 2015 to 2019, Hon. Rasaq Atunwa became the honourable member of Kwara State House of Assembly from Efue/Berokodo ward in Owode district through rotational method, while in 2015 to 2019 the position was zoned to Onire district with the emergences of Hon. Taiwo Abdullahi from Awe/Orimaro ward in Onire district.

And currently, Hon. Ambali Olatunji from Otte/Ballah in Owode district is the current house of assembly member representing Owode/Onire constituency.

According to the available reports, the above explained clearly that it’s the turn of Onire to produce the next honourable member to represent the constituency at house of assembly come 2023 elections.

Earlier, the Chairman, All Progressives Congress (APC), in Owode/Onire constituency, Alhaji Suleyman Ayegun inagurated seven man Committee for the purpose of objectivity in selecting a credible candidate for the seat.

The committee are, a former council Chairman, Asa local government, Alhaji Saka Akanbi Isemi from Otte/Ballah ward, the former Commissioner for Education and Human Capital Development, Engr. Musa Ayinla Yeketi from Alapa/Onire/Ode-Giwa ward served as committee Secretary, Mallam Azeez Jimoh from Gambari/Ayekale ward.

Other members include Hajia Taiye Babatunde from Sosoki/Yowere ward ii. Alhaji Isiaka Akanbi(Ariyo) from Agbona/Elebue/Fata, Mallam Garba Salman from Sosoki Yowere ii, and Mallam Ibrahim Ajao from Owode/Gbogun ward.

Contestants are, Hon. Ayinde Usman Alajere, from Okeweru/Yowere ii. Hajia Sidikat Sulaiman from Sosoki Yowere I, Hon. Salman Ibrahim from Sosoki Yowere I, Mallam Sa’ad Musa from Sosoki Yowere I.

Others also include Mallam Ajidagba Mutiu from Agbona/Elebue/Fata, Hajia Kudirat Issa from Alapa/Onire/Ode-Giwa ward, Hajia Adijat Ismail from Alapa/Onire/Ode-Giwa ward, Mallam Jamiu Abdulmumini from Alapa/Onire/Ode-Giwa ward, Mr. Daniel Olusegun from Alapa/Onire/Ode-Giwa ward and Mallam Abdulhamid Kodokodo.

Based on the available facts, a usual tradition meeting of the stakeholders was held at Mallam Saka Akande residence to select the rightful, suitable reliable and most popular candidate for the party.

Announcing Hon. Ayinde Usman Alajere as candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for Owode/Onire House of Assembly come 2023 election, the Chairman screening committee, Alhaji Saka Akanbi Isemi thanked the all APC stakeholders in the constituency for the confidence reposed in them.

He said that all contestant aspirants were qualified and eligible to fly the flag of APC in the forthcoming house of assembly election, disclosing that the committee has just to pick a candidate for a seat based on zoning arrangement.

He added that zoning system being practiced by the constituency for many years favoured Oke-weru Yowere ward ii that has never produce House of Assembly member in the history of district.

Speaking with Nigeria RealNews, the Secretary of the committee, Engr. Musa Ayinla Yeketi confirmed that the committee gave every contestants equal playing ground level during the screening exercise, urging all aspirants and their supporters and cooperate with all APC candidates for victory during 2023 elections.

He kudos the immense contribution of all members of the committee commitment, APC stakeholders and party faithful in the local government and the state at large to give their maximum support for the re-election of Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRasaq come 2023.


What do you think?

Written by Editor

I am a journalist based in Ilorin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Kwara Gov Congratulates Olusin On Birthday Anniversary, Commends Monarch For Peaceful Co-existence, Development

We’ll Support You For Second Term, Kwara Monarchs Tell Gov AbdulRasaq