2023: Get Set To Reclaim Power From APC, Saraki Charges PDP Members

Delegates of Kwara State chapter of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) gathered at the Atlantic Event Palace, Ilorin on Saturday to elect the new party officials that will be responsible for running the party affairs.

The delegates adopted the consensus method in choosing the new PDP State Officials as former Speaker of Kwara State House of Assembly, Hon. Babatunde Mohammed becomes new chairman of the state PDP.

While, the new Deputy Chairman, Hon. Umaru Gunu, a former member of the state house of assembly, elected as Chief Whip, former Commissioner for Special Duties, Alhaji Razaq Lawal emerged as state Secretary while also the Publicity Secretary, Mr. Tunde Ashaolu retained his position.

Others include Chief Bisi Fakayode, chairman, Kwara South Senatorial zone, Baba Jimoh, chairman, Kwara North Senatorial Zone , Alhaja Balikis Oniyangi – Organizing Secretary and Comrade Dan Iyan – Youth Leader.

Former Senate President, Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki, who participated in the congress , charged the new state PDP officials and other party members to ‘set to work’ and take necessary steps to ensure Kwara becomes a PDP-controlled state in 2023.

“You should begin to work in earnest to ensure overall victory for the party at the 2023 general elections.

“As soon as you leave this venue, work should begin. The peaceful conduct of this congress has confirmed to me that we are indeed ready to take back power in Kwara’ he said.

Chairman, Kwara state PDP Congress Committee, Hon John Akwarashi, said it was gratifying to note that the information available to the committee that Kwara had chosen the ‘consensus’ method was eventually confirmed.

“It is clear that this choice of party officials are the choice of the majority of the party members’ he said.

Giving his acceptance speech, Hon. Babatunde Mohammed said he was aware of the task ahead and that he was ready to do the needful.

“We will start work from the grassroots and walk our way up.

“We will use the next local government elections to tell Kwara people that we are back”, he said.

Nigeria RealNews learned party leaders that participated in the congress include former governor Abdulfatah Ahmed, Senator Rafiu Ibrahim, former Sports minister, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, Hon. Razak Atunwa, Hon. Zakari Mohammed, Hon. Abubakar Kanike, Hon. Ahmad Ali, former Commissioner for Lands and Housing, Hajia Nimota Ibrahim and Ambassador Gana Issa among others.

Former Speaker Mohammed’s immediate predecessor, Engineer Kola Shittu noted that the consensus method was a popular choice from all PDP stakeholders in the state-





What do you think?

Written by Issa Saliu

I am a journalist based in Ilorin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Lagos CP Lauds APC, PDP For Peaceful Congress

Dedicate More Time On Prayers For Allah’s Favour, Blessings – Imam Erubu