Asa PDP Crisis Deepens As Members Reject Imposed Executives


Members of the People’s Democratic Party in Owode/Gbogun ward in Asa local government area of Kwara State have rejected the imposed list of the new Executive members submitted to the state executives by some disgruntled elements in the party.

This was contained in a petition jointly signed by seventeen congress members headed by the committee Chairman Alhaji Babatunde Elere and made available to the Nigeria RealNews in Ilorin on Thursday.

According to the petition, some black eggs in the ward fraudulently composed another fake list different from the original list composed by the majority in the ward and through back door submitted it to the PDP at state level.

The petition further said it is quite unfortunate that the illegal fraudulent act of one Mallam Garba Ahmed was masterminded by another APC man, Alhaji Sidiq Oloja who casted all his votes for APC during 2019 general elections.

The petition maintained that the act is dangerous idea for the party in any future elections, warning that if is not urgently checked and corrected, it may affect the future performance of the party in the local government.

“We urged your committee to conduct an independent investigation to confirm all the allegation leveled against. We equally urged the executive to follow up this petition to the grassroots to ensure that round peg is put into round hole.

“We shall continue to rely on your good sense of reasoning, unbiased and impartial judgement, hence, our mind shall be at rest and we shall work harder for the success of our party in the ward and indeed in Asa local government.

The petition stated that the new executive members was jointly elected by all members of the party at the just concluded ward congress are Salaudeen Ibrahim as ward Chairman, Ibrahim Alabi as Deputy Chairman, Babatunde Abdulrasaq as Secretary, Saka Muhammed as Assistant Secretary, Madam Rihanat Babatunde as Women Leader, Abdullahi Salman as Treasurer, Saka Akande P.R.O, Abdulganiyu Akorede elected as Organising Secretary, and Waheed Jimoh also elected as P.R.O II.

Others include, Akeem Jimoh became Legal Adviser, Suliema Hadijat elected as Assistant Women Leader, Mallam Saheed Ajao elected as Ex-officio I, Azeez Ayinla as Ex-officio Il, Rasaq Alabi Ex-officio Ill, while Mumini Akanno and Musa Raheem elected as Ex-officio lV and Ex-officio V, respectively.

The petition therefore, looking forward to the PDP state reconciliation committee for a fruitful and purposeful judgement that will favour the majority members at the grassroots for progress of the party in the future elections.

What do you think?

Written by Issa Saliu

I am a journalist based in Ilorin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Court Sends Kwara Footballer, One Other To Jail In Ilorin For Cybercrime

Politicisation Of Nigeria Exchange Rate, Bane of Nation’s Economy – Sen. Rafiu Ibrahim